Order Goes Into Effect Wednesday
TAUNTON — Chief Edward J. Walsh and the members of the Taunton Police Department would like to remind community members that, beginning Wednesday, May 6, face masks or cloth face coverings must be worn in public to prevent the spread of COVID-19.
On Friday, May 1, Gov. Charlie Baker announced a statewide requirement for anyone in public unable to remain socially distant, a minimum of six feet away from others, to wear a face covering. This order applies to both indoor and outdoor spaces.
Those under the age of two or with certain health conditions identified by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) are exempt from the requirement.
“There are several precautions everyone can take to help protect themselves and others from COVID-19,” Chief Walsh said. “Wearing a face covering while in public is one of these precautions. Together we can stop the spread of COVID-19 and keep our community safe.”
Face coverings can be made out of household fabrics and materials, and should ideally have multiple layers. The cloth face coverings recommended are not surgical masks or N-95 respirators, which should be reserved for medical professionals and first responders.
In addition to wearing a face covering, additional precautions to prevent the spread of flu, colds and other respiratory illnesses include:
- Practice social distancing at all times by remaining 6 feet away from others when you must leave your home for essential trips.
- Stay home if you are sick and avoid close contact with others.
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds; use alcohol-based hand gel with at least 60% alcohol if soap and water are not available.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth.
- Clean frequently touched surfaces (like doorknobs and countertops) with household cleaning spray or wipes.
- Cover your mouth when you cough or sneeze. Use a tissue or your inner elbow, not your hands.
The DPH, local boards of health and authorized agents pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Ch. 111 s.30 are authorized to enforce this order and if necessary may do so with the assistance of State or Municipal Police Departments.
Violation of the terms of this order or DPH guidance may result in a civil fine of up to $300 per violation.